Author Topic: I accidentally made vegan coconut oatmeal cookies  (Read 4803 times)

Offline gebuh

• The Runners
  • don't worry, I'm a doctor
    • cycle touring
I accidentally made vegan coconut oatmeal cookies
« on: February 17, 2014, 05:44:16 PM »
and they were awesome.

I was going to make vegan chocolate-chocolate chip oatmeal cookies, but dd2 had pilfered all the chips, so I improvised - I think it might need some other spice, but this iteration was pretty darn good.
I modified this recipe http://southernfood.about.com/od/oatmealcookies/r/blcookies9f.htm

1 stick vegetable crisco + a couple of tablespoons of coconut oil
1 cup packed brown sugar
1 cup sugar
2 flax eggs (refrigerate 20 - 30 minutes after mixing
2 teaspoons vanilla
2 cups sifted all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 cup rolled oats, quick
2 cups coconut
1/2 cup-ish of chopped walnuts

Them mostly sorta follow the directions - mostly, I didn't have much luck with mixing and stirring, I ended up mashing it with my hands.
« Last Edit: March 15, 2014, 03:48:21 PM by gebuh »

Offline diablita

• The Runners
Re: I accidentally made vegan coconut oatmeal cookies
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2014, 07:48:50 PM »
interesting!  I might have to try this with date syrup.
"Some things you just need to do for yourself, even if it means nicking your nads."  --nneJ

Offline moroccangirl

• The Runners
  • Token Hijabi
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2014, 10:41:38 AM »
interesting!  I might have to try this with date syrup.

What do you use date syrup for? It's everywhere here (in the stores) but I never even knew it existed.
"Leave your butthole hair alone, ladies" Fionn mac Cumhail 3/19/09

Offline diablita

• The Runners
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2014, 08:16:11 PM »
You're kidding?  it's liquid gold!  super hard to get here, it's the first item that we pay tons to buy here and you can get easily :)