Author Topic: Hoka hoopla.  (Read 21672 times)

Offline DickWadzinski

• The Runners
Hoka hoopla.
« on: September 08, 2014, 05:44:55 PM »
What's the big deal with these Hoka One One shoes?  A lot of runners are raving over them.  Even our esteemed overly verbose over the hill former semi elite former poster bought a pair (according to Facebook).  I'm coming off a partially torn calf muscle, the worst running injury I've had in a long time and I've thought about buying a pair.  Until I started reading some reviews.  Some folks say they wear out and fall apart after very few uses.  I guess you can't cheat the law of physics and material engineering.  If something is going to be that light and that cushioned at the same time it's certainly not going to last.

When I was a running newbie back in 1999-2000 I tried several brands, Adidas, Nike, Puma.  I even tried some Reeboks.  They were very light with huge thick cushioning.  And they wore out fast too.

So what's the deal?  Anybody running in them?

Offline caito

• The Runners
Re: Hoka hoopla.
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2014, 05:51:43 PM »
I run in them.   Not exclusively, but I have an extensive running shoe collection b/c of my job.

They are incredibly cushioned and incredibly comfortable.  They have been very popular with the ultra and mountain running crowd.  They protect you over all those miles and technical trails and descents.

I think they last longer than traditional running shoes.  The new Hoka OneOne models coming out now are impossibly light, considering how cushy they are.   They are comparing the new HokaOneOne Clifton to the Saucony Kinvara!

It's the fastest growing brand in the running specialty market right now.   I like them a lot.
"Libs are all pro-choice until it comes to something important like trash service."

Offline rocketgirl

• The Runners
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2014, 05:56:59 PM »