Author Topic: Dinner parties - what has worked, what hasn't  (Read 766 times)

Offline floridagal

• The Runners
Dinner parties - what has worked, what hasn't
« on: December 11, 2022, 09:46:18 AM »
I'd love to hear complete menus from you guys - how'd you get it on the table, and what worked and what didn't.

I'm a decent cook (well, I like to cook and can follow a recipe) but would like to up my confidence in dinner parties.

I can start with one that worked:
# of people total:  4
Menu and plan: I did mashed potatoes in the crockpot in the am, and served ribeyes on the grill (my bf's job) and oven roasted asparagus with parmesan. Store-bought dessert.  Low stress having the potatoes done ahead of time. Totally worked.

If I've learned nothing else, it's that people are crazy.
--RioG

Offline picote

• Exists as only Hawking radiation
Re: Dinner parties - what has worked, what hasn't
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2022, 01:19:08 PM »
I feel like I’m out of practice on dinner party cooking because of moving/making new friends/small kids and covid. The last dinner party we had I made Natasha’s pork tenderloin (not Natasha here—it’s an online recipe). Super easy and so far 100% success rate. I usually make a jus from the pan juices with chicken stock or wine. We make it for dinner all the time too. I usually pair it with roasted or grilled asparagus and roasted new potatoes if we’re having guests.

For a nicer dinner, grilled lamb chops, asparagus with halloumi or feta and maybe potatoes. Or ribeye, asparagus and crash potatoes with sour cream and a bit of caviar. There’s an apple galette recipe from the nyt that’s amazing, if you’re feeling ambitious.

I think I’m going to make rack of lamb with popovers and something veggie for Xmas dinner.

I feel like meat is usually pretty easy. Hands off and a fair margin for error. Also most things roasted.

Offline witchypoo

• The Runners
  • benign librarian overlord
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2022, 02:26:33 PM »