Author Topic: Renaissance lasagne  (Read 3400 times)

Offline gebuh

• The Runners
  • don't worry, I'm a doctor
    • cycle touring
Renaissance lasagne
« on: July 14, 2013, 01:31:45 PM »
This stuff was amazing, I wish I'd posted it when I first made it, I had to change some things (replaced the pork with duck bacon and chicken sausage).  If I had to do it again I would not use handmade pasta - that was the hardest part of the recipe and I think more sauce, it was a little dry.
http://www.splendidtable.org/recipes/renaissance-lasagne-hand-rolled-pasta .

Offline caribougrrl

• Passed on to another Brane
Re: Renaissance lasagne
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2013, 11:25:35 AM »
I like the looks of that!

the more pasta you make, the easier it gets

Offline sweetfeed

• Pubescent
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2014, 05:19:41 PM »

I remembered this last weekend as we were heading into the deep freeze. This was ridiculously delicious--thanks so much for posting it here.

I subbed pork for the chicken hearts and gizzards, and accidentally thought it called for ground chuck rather than chuck roast. I agree it could have used a teeny bit more ragu. I did make the pasta, but didn't realize the recipe also called for it to be hand rolled. I was thinking I could put the dough through my hand-cranked pasta machine, but it much too sticky for that. I did manage to roll it out, though instead of nice strips I had a bunch of weirdly shaped shards. But once everything was layered it was fine. I'll no doubt make this again next winter.

Offline gebuh

• The Runners
  • don't worry, I'm a doctor
    • cycle touring
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2014, 02:54:14 PM »
I remembered this last weekend as we were heading into the deep freeze. This was ridiculously delicious--thanks so much for posting it here.