Author Topic: Shutter count...  (Read 6703 times)

Offline OldBaldHippie

• Passed on to another Brane
  • Onward through the fog...
Shutter count...
« on: June 19, 2013, 08:45:43 PM »
searching for that lost shaker of salt...

Offline The Turtle Whisperer

• has no fucks to give
Re: Shutter count...
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2013, 09:43:10 PM »
When I was reading up last week i did see that. 

While probably not relevant to the low cost model I bought, some of the techs said that even if the shutter replacement is $400, it's going to be worth it on some of the high end models. 
People put a lot less effort into picking apart evidence that confirms what they already believe.

The money is in the division. Always has been, always will be. Divide and rule, the politician cries; unite and lead, is the watchword of the wise.

Offline omega lambda

• The Runners
« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2013, 02:43:35 PM »
Absolutely!  I had to replace a shutter when I was in France.  I'm a member of Canon Professional Services and in the U.S. would have gotten 30% off the price of the repair, but the Euro offices didn't honor the U.S. discount.  I paid about $400 to replace the shutter in 2011 (including the exchange rate) and it was far cheaper than replacing a $4k camera.

But I think the shutter count is a good thing to know when you're buying a used camera.  All things considered, if there are two cameras for sale for the same price, the one with the lower shutter count is the better deal.  And if you know a camera has close to 100k actuations, you can figure that into negotiations or if the cost of the camera and possibly replacing a shutter soon is still a good deal to you.

Offline Mrtambourineman

« Reply #3 on: September 27, 2013, 06:33:05 PM »