Author Topic: Trail running noob  (Read 5938 times)

Offline BonitaApplebum

• Alpha Food Geek
Trail running noob
« on: January 09, 2020, 05:16:19 PM »
I’m starting from scratch on running... and I mean scratch. I’m planning to do a C25K program... and I’m thinking of doing trail running for as much of it as possible, weather permitting.

I am typically a street runner, if not there then on the indoor track... I have no real trail running experience, but I’ve hiked plenty and am comfortable on trails.

Any advice for me? My main questions are about footwear. I have Brooks Ghost 10 running shoes.

Offline CheryG

• Passed on to another Brane
Re: Trail running noob
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2020, 07:35:37 PM »
All I know about Brooks trail shoes is that the PureGrit7 was good, ran two trail marathons in them, but the PureGrit8 sucked horribly. So slick, only good in dry weather.

Offline diablita

• The Runners
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2020, 07:58:06 PM »
Since the Ghost are well cushioned, neutral road shoes are you asking if you should wear them anyway or for trail she recos?

Bonita you can get away with road shoes on super easy, not technical trails that are dry.  Once you change one of those factors you'll be happier in trail shoes.  Some shoes like Salomon Sense Ride 2 are for both (disclosure: I wear and love these).  For neutral, well padded shoes the Brooks Cascadia would be equivalent, PureGrit would be lower profile.  I wear neutral Brooks (Ghost for plush, Launch most of the time, Ricochet for track) and wore Cascadia for years but after my last bad foot/ankle sprain I had to switch to something wider and lower to the ground to stop from rolling.  Now I wear the Salomons (love) and I have a pair of Topos trail shoes that have a lower drop. 

I'd always go to a local running store to get fitted with a new type of shoe (esp if they have a generous exchange policy to figure it out) but Running Warehouse is good with their exchange policy, too.