Author Topic: I’m making risotto, but with sushi rice  (Read 5642 times)

Offline BonitaApplebum

• Alpha Food Geek
I’m making risotto, but with sushi rice
« on: April 25, 2020, 07:03:05 PM »
It’s what I have. Also attempting it in the pressure cooker, which I’ve never done before.

I’ll post back and let you know if it came out marvelous or horrible.

Offline diablita

• The Runners
Re: I’m making risotto, but with sushi rice
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2020, 07:04:16 PM »
yes please. #covidexcitement
"Some things you just need to do for yourself, even if it means nicking your nads."  --nneJ

Offline Run Amok

• The Runners
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2020, 08:44:55 PM »
Interesting! Good luck!

Offline BonitaApplebum

• Alpha Food Geek
« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2020, 08:28:08 AM »
Wow, it came out awesome. And so easy!

Here’s the basic recipe I followed:

I had fresh shiitakes instead of dried porcini, I used a little extra butter and sautéed them before the onions. And I used beef broth because it’s what I had. I otherwise followed the recipe exactly.

Oh! If it’s not obvious, I did NOT rinse the rice first like you do for sushi. I got that tip somewhere online.

It was so good and it only took 20 from start to serve. 20 minutes for risotto!! I’m sold on this technique for sure.

Offline DocBuzzkill

• Help me, I'm melting....
« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2020, 08:51:15 AM »
Excellent!  I'm glad you discovered how easy it is to prepare risotto in a pressure cooker.   I bought my first pressure cooker, along with Lorna Sass' Cooking Under Pressure in the mid-90s with the primary purposes of preparing risotto and beans.

I use my Instant Pot now.  My favorite risotto recipes are shrimp, garlic, and leek risotto and risotto with smoked mozzarella and sun-dried tomatoes.

#notallprogressives

Offline Ice Cream

• The Runners
« Reply #5 on: April 26, 2020, 09:38:04 AM »
hmmm, what is this?  I am not doing this. Looks dangerous.