Author Topic: Christmas Dessert - Make-Ahead  (Read 16808 times)

Offline cgraz

• The Runners
  • Invisible since 2001.
Christmas Dessert - Make-Ahead
« on: December 21, 2012, 04:28:07 PM »
Ok, so I'm going to have time on Sunday to bake or make something early in the day...then dinner at my MIL's. I need to make a dessert to take to my sister's for Christmas Day, so it has to be something that would hold up well if I make it on Sunday, then we travel Monday, and eat it Tuesday.

Any ideas? Fancy/special enough to go with a delicious Christmas dinner of roast beast? Hopefully ones that are somewhat easy to make? I am not good with pretty cakes. Rustic desserts are more my style...  :D
This space for rent.

Offline merigayle

• The Runners
Fionn mac Cumhail :Meri will rise from the casket and beat you...and then run one last Badwater before burying herself.

Offline cgraz

• The Runners
  • Invisible since 2001.
Re: Christmas Dessert - Make-Ahead
« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2012, 07:19:05 PM »
Could I make a frosted cake on Sunday that would still be good on Tuesday? Or bake it, and then assemble and frost that day...

I'm generally not great with cakes! They always look like a hot mess. But I would try something, and see how it goes.

The other thing I'm thinking is maybe a trifle, and have all the parts ready and assemble it there on Tuesday. I have made a great chocolate toffee trifle before. Even though they have cake it them, it's ok because you tear it all up and it doesn't have to look perfect!
This space for rent.

Offline Magic Microbe

• The Runners
  • Californiaing Arizona since 2018
« Reply #3 on: December 21, 2012, 07:50:06 PM »
I made chocolate rolls last weekend. They are fancy looking and easy.

Offline cgraz

• The Runners
  • Invisible since 2001.
Christmas Dessert - Make-Ahead
« Reply #4 on: December 21, 2012, 08:03:13 PM »
What are chocolate rolls? Sounds like it has some potential!
This space for rent.

Offline Ice Cream

• The Runners